Yeti to Clarisse Workflow

Discussion related to the Yeti module for Isotropix Clarisse
Post Reply
pvilasSpin
Posts: 3
Joined: December 8th, 2017, 12:18 pm

Yeti to Clarisse Workflow

Post by pvilasSpin »

Hi Everyone,

We are doing some Grass tests using Yeti 2.2.5 and we wanted to export it to Clarisse 3.5.
I know that it is supported by Yeti since v2.2, but does anyone know the actual steps to do it?
Can Clarisse read the .fur cache files from yeti?

We are trying to figure it out but there is almost no documentation available...
Any help would be awesome!
Thanks.

leufen
Posts: 10
Joined: October 3rd, 2014, 7:56 am

Re: Yeti to Clarisse Workflow

Post by leufen »

Are you on linux or windows? On windows you need Yeti v3.

Otherwise just:

- install the pgYetiClarisse plug-in
- create yeti_procedural
- add cache exported from maya

pvilasSpin
Posts: 3
Joined: December 8th, 2017, 12:18 pm

Re: Yeti to Clarisse Workflow

Post by pvilasSpin »

Hi Leufen,
Thanks for the reply.

I am using linux so I should be good right!
When you say Yeti procedural it is the .fur cache files right?
Do I need to add any parameter to the cache for clarisse?

Thanks again!

leufen
Posts: 10
Joined: October 3rd, 2014, 7:56 am

Re: Yeti to Clarisse Workflow

Post by leufen »

I haven´t done any extensive testing yet to be honest! You don´t need to add any special attributes (right now Clarisse can´t read custom yeti attributes, I think).
yeti_clarisse_example.jpg
yeti_clarisse_example.jpg (372.2 KiB) Viewed 1118 times

leufen
Posts: 10
Joined: October 3rd, 2014, 7:56 am

Re: Yeti to Clarisse Workflow

Post by leufen »

Just one thing, we had some issues with high density cache files. So start low on the density in Clarisse and see how far you can go without getting long build times.

pvilasSpin
Posts: 3
Joined: December 8th, 2017, 12:18 pm

Re: Yeti to Clarisse Workflow

Post by pvilasSpin »

Thanks a lot Leufen.
I will try it out.

User avatar
colin
Site Admin
Posts: 2233
Joined: December 15th, 2012, 10:11 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Yeti to Clarisse Workflow

Post by colin »

BTW - please note the default motion blur steps is 5, if you are rendering with motion blur you might not need this many so it would speed up computation to reduce this.

The procedural isn't the .fur files but the Clarisse .so files that ship with Yeti - you need to provide the correct location to this when starting via the command line with -module_path as per http://documentation.peregrinelabs.com/ ... aedalus-r1

Thank you

Post Reply